Lesson 1: Learn to Prioritize

March 13, 2011 at 10:16 pm | Posted in Other | 2 Comments
Tags: ,

In high school, I was your typical overachiever who always went above and beyond what was expected and did all the extra credit and then some.  I was a self-proclaimed perfectionist and actually got a lot of satisfaction from seeing my effort appreciated with straight A+’s.  When I got to college, I figured everything was going to be SO much more difficult and I would be extremely challenged by the work.  What I’ve found, however, is that it’s not the work itself that’s so difficult, it’s the AMOUNT of work that can seem unbearable at times. 

This semester, I have 5 academic classes that are all legitimate courses (meaning no Self-Defense gym class like last semester ;)) and the workload can feel overwhelming when every class has an exam and assignment due within a few days of each other.  Take into account that I’m teaching at least 4 yoga classes per week, at that’s a packed schedule!  Therefore, I’ve had to learn to prioritize and ensure that I’m keeping my own well-being in check while still maintaining my school load. 

Exhibit A:  Pile of required books that I have never, and will never, crack open.

IMG_4640

It’s a well known fact that professors will require you to buy multiple books for a course which they will never actually use during the semester.  They say it’s “required” when in reality it’s more like “recommended for your own enrichment.”  To me, that means “maybe in another lifetime.”

Instead, I tend to focus on this pile in my spare time…

Exhibit B:  My yoga gear.

IMG_4641

My well-being is the most important thing in my life. If I’m not mentally well, I won’t be physically well or doing academically well. I often times need to force myself to set the books aside and go to a yoga class, head to gym, grab coffee with a friend, call my mom or brothers, text a friend just to say hi, or whatever it might be to keep myself happy and distracted. 

There is no humanly possible way that I could do EVERYTHING that is assigned to me in college.  I have to lay out my priorities and set up a schedule so I know that I will maintain my mental well-being, and still do my best in school.  It’s a balance that’s not always easy, but I know it’s a skill that I’m going to need for the rest of my life!

How do you stay balanced in your life?

   

      

   

Heather

       

       

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I hate that too! I have several books that I’ve scrambled to buy, which leave me basically penniless, yet we NEVER use the book! It’s a stupid waste of money! (sorry for ranting! Lol!)

  2. just wanted to say…HI!!!!

    You look amazing and so glad to “see” you again 🙂

    xoxo


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

