Making My Way One Exam at a Time

March 24, 2011 at 2:12 pm | Posted in Breakfast, Snack | 14 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

First off, THANK YOU everyone again for the wonderful birthday wishes!  It was a low-key day, but I loved it.  My oldest brother called me in the evening, and it was wonderful to chat with him.  We’re planning a brother-sister get-together as soon as my workload calms down! :) 

On that note, my “busiest week of college to date” is slowly lessening in intensity as I get through the mega-list of exams.  This morning I had an Environmental Geology exam that I think went decently well.  Sometimes it’s tough to know how you did on an exam right after taking it, and that’s how I felt with this one.  So we’ll just have to wait and see!

Before my exam, I had a breakfast of a bowl of Trader Joe’s Organic Golden Flax cereal topped with unsweetened almond milk with an organic banana on the side.

IMG_4756

IMG_4758

IMG_4757

This was the first time I tried this cereal, and I must say that I really like it!  It seems to hold me over quite well too, which is always a bonus for a hectic college student’s life. 🙂

After breakfast, I taught an 8am Yoga class at the studio before heading out to my exam in the Geology building WAYYYYYY the heck out in the middle of nowhere on campus.  Seriously, the UW Madison campus IS the city of Madison.  I walk about 4 miles alone just getting to my classes!  I actually don’t mind it at all when the weather is nice, but when today’s temperatures are like this (the bottom one is outside)…

IMG_4759

… I’d rather the building be a bit closer.

   

This afternoon I had a typical snack:  Synergy, organic kiwi, organic blackberries, and a Fage 0% Greek yogurt.

IMG_4760 

It’s been way too long since I’ve had blackberries.  SO good!
 

I’m taking an Intro to Buddhism class this semester, and this afternoon we literally meditated the entire class (1 hour and 15 minutes).  A certified meditation teacher came in and led the mediation, so it was actually a neat experience.  Although I’m a Yoga practitioner, I don’t normally meditate!  It was great to get a peek into another aspect of the practice.  Have you done any meditation before… on your own or with an instructor?
 

Tonight is another low-key evening… I’m heading to a Power Yoga class and hoping to get some more studying done!  I love Thursdays because we all know tomorrow is FRIIIIIDAYYYY! 😀

  

  

   

Heather

       

      

   

    

14 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. how cool that your school offers a Buddhism class! That would be so neat to meditate all hour. Now thats my kind of class!! I really need to meditate more often for stress/anxiety relief. When I do it, I always feel soooo much better.

    enjoy your evening girlie!

  2. That’s awesome! I would LOVE to have gone to classes- I wish I could go back and re-live my college experience (and actually go to class! (sorry mom!) lol

  3. Oh gosh, busy exam weeks like that are the worst!! It seems like all the professors get together and plot out when to have their tests. :/ Glad you’re surviving just fine!

    I’ve never *actually* meditated beyond deep breathing, yoga, and what not..but it must work wonders for those that can block out everything from their minds. I don’t see how they do it!

    • I agree! It must be terribly difficult… just this first time in class my mind was going in 92495234 different places and then I just about nodded off. Great experience, but it must take a LOT of persistence!

  4. Yuck, that temperature is way too low!!

    That cereal looks good. I go through periods where I eat tons of cereal, get tired of it, and then after a few months I crave it again, ha. Currently, I’m going through a “tired of it” stage 😉

  5. How fun that you got to mediate for a class! A couple of weekends ago, I almost signed up for a 4 day meditation course before I found out it was $250. Crazy!

  6. i’ve never done meditation. there was a club that did it at my college but i was always too nervous to go because i don’t think i know how to relax enough!

    i LOVE cereal. that pic makes me want a bowl of it NOW

  7. Hope you did AWESOME on that test!!!

  8. Have you done any meditation before… on your own or with an instructor?
    Yes I love to do yoga poses on my own 🙂

  9. Love the kombucha that flavor is my favorite and yess for friday tomorrow 🙂

  10. I knew the Madison campus was big, but WOW! That’s crazy!! I hope your exams turn out well and a very happy belated birthday to YOU! Have a fabulous weekend 🙂

  11. Heather, sorry I missed your birthday. Glad it was good. I hadn’t remembered that you shared a birthday with my father. He would have been 99 on the 23rd.

  12. Happy Belated Birthday!! 🙂

  13. I’ve actually really been into meditation lately. It relaxes me and reminds me that whatever I’m feeling in the moment will pass and doesn’t have as much weight as I think it does.
    I love fage!! So good!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

