Sacrifices in the College Student Kitchen

March 31, 2011 at 8:14 am | Posted in Breakfast, Dinner, Review | 10 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

It was so nice to have a busy day of FUN yesterday!  I got caught up with a friend in the morning over coffee, and another friend in the afternoon.  It made me realize how important socializing is for my own sanity… especially when things get stressful!

Last night I had an old favorite that I haven’t made in MONTHSorganic baked sweet potato topped with cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, and MaraNatha organic raw almond butter.

IMG_4790

IMG_4792

There is no such thing as too much cinnamon. 🙂

With a glass of unsweetened almond milk.

IMG_4793

     
I used to have baked sweet potatoes a couple times a week when I was living at home. Since moving into my own apartment in college, I’ve been baking a LOT less. 
 
Why?

IMG_4797

Meet my oven.  Or more specifically, my GE Advantium Over-Range Speedcook Oven.  This thing SUCKS!  Mainly, it is too small to fit a full-sized cookie sheet, and all the temperature settings of a normal oven must be altered with no apparent formula that hold true for all recipes.  Even when I do find the right temperature, it will often burn the food on the outside, but not fully cook on the inside.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s actually a fabulous microwave, but as an oven it has a lot to learn!

It’s something I’ve learned just to deal with since there isn’t much I can do renting my apartment as a college student and all, but it does get frustrating when recipes just don’t seem to turn out like they used to with a normal oven. 

That said, my baked sweet potatoes will usually turn out just fine, but it’s more of a “I don’t like you, so I won’t use you” type of rebellion towards the oven.  I believe my rebellion is being well-received by said oven. 😉

Off on holiday? Don’t forget your Maui Jim Sunglasses from Eye for Sunglasses and your hat from Hat Shop 

On a more positive note, I woke up this morning and opened up a new cereal to try out – Trader Joe’s Lowfat Granola Cereal with Almond.

IMG_4794

Topped with unsweetened almond milk and an organic banana on the side.

IMG_4796

IMG_4795

A lot of cereal granolas tend to taste too un-granola-like for me, but this one definitely had the granola taste and texture!  There was a distinct vanilla flavor, but it didn’t taste too sugary or overwhelming.  I also like the random almond slice for extra crunch.  Definitely a cereal to check out yourself!
  

This morning I enrolled in 2 summer coursesThe Rhetoric of Religion (a Communication Arts course) and Education Psychology – Human Abilities and Learning (a requirement for the Dietetics degree).  They are both 4-week courses, 4 days a week, 3 hours per day.  I’ll be teaching yoga this summer as well, and knew I needed these extra courses squeezed in somewhere in order to graduate in 4 years, so I figured why not do summer school this summer and get it out of the way?  I might end up switching the classes I take, depending on what opens up before summer, but it will definitely be 6 credits total this summer.
  

Now I’m setting up to do a morning yoga podcast before heading to my first class of the day – Environmental Geology!
  

Questions

Have you ever used a Speedcook Oven?  If so, do you have any advice for a newbie?

Have you ever taken summer courses in college?

    

   

   

Heather

     

        

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m so lucky to have a full kitchen. I can’t remember the last time I used my microwave! Baked sweet potatoes are ten times better in the oven 😉

  2. One summer I took 5 summer classes. My university split the summer in two semesters, so I took 3 during the first summer term and then two in the second. I graduated a semester early because of it but it really sucked! I was in school 9-4 almost every single day!!!

    I think two is manageable!!!

  3. Okay, I’m a little disappointed that you didn’t invite me over for dinner last night, Heather, sweet potatoes are my favorite! 😉

    Glad you got to have a day of fun!!

  4. I *always* took summer courses in college. Since I went to a big school it was the best way to get personalized attention. Plus it was nice not to have to retain things for 15 weeks — I only needed to know them for a month. (I do believe in learning something for life, but lets face it–every college course is not built that way).

    But my internships happened to be really near school too — so I was able to work full time AND go to class. It was pretty awesome.

  5. I just found your blog and I can’t wait to read more.

    Yes I had to 2 semesters of school over the summer (5 courses). I was pretty hesistant about it but it worked out fine in the end after i found a good routine to stick with! You will do fine! 🙂

  6. Luckily I have a full kitchen so I haven’t used a speed cook! Summer classes are tough, but you’ll do great!!!

  7. no and no. my school was too small to offer summer stuff. and i am way to lazy to cook in general….

  8. My friends once microwaved brownies. Noit sure if it was a SpeedCook oven..I honestly think it was just a microwave.

    I’ve taken summer courses every year and absolutely love it. The campus is WAY less crowded and the classes are more laid back. This summer I’m taking Physics II and lab (funnn), world lit, and karate. Plus, taking summer courses helps you not have to load up during the regular semester. I’m on schedule and haven’t gone about 13 hrs/term. 😛

  9. Hope you enjoy your summer courses! They both sound dead interesting!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

