A Walk in My World #2

April 6, 2011 at 6:40 pm | Posted in Exercise | 15 Comments
Tags: , ,

I go for walks every single day.  They usually end up being about 4 miles and seriously are what keep me sane in my life.  I absolutely love walking – it gives me time to think, get outside, and feel mentally and physically amazing. 

In A Walk in My World (#1), I took you on a tour of the Madison area Bike Path that I walk on.  The other path I walk on is Lakeshore Path, which runs along the edge of Lake Mendota in Madison. 

The Lakeshore Path itself is about 1.75 miles, but from my apartment to the end of the path is 2 miles (4 miles going there and back).  Lakeshore Path connects with Picnic Point which is basically a peninsula that juts out into Lake Mendota.  Picnic Point is another 1 mile long, so when I walk the entire route, I end up walking 6 miles total. Got it? 😉

In the summer, a lot of times I’ll walk the full 6 miles with Picnic Point because I have the extra time and I just love being outside.  But when school is in session, I tend to just do the 4 miles of Lakeshore Path. 

  

Today was absolutely GORGEOUS weather-wise!  It started a little cold and rainy, but by noon the sun was shining and I was wearing only a hoodie to walk to class.  I decided to take my camera along with me to walk the Lakeshore Path this afternoon and show you what it’s all about…
 

The start (or end, depending on what way you’re going ;)).

IMG_4881 
     

Lake Mendota

IMG_4884

IMG_4887 
  

The dark line of trees in the background that extends almost to the edge of the photo is the Picnic Point Peninsula.

IMG_4888 
 

Hitting the path.

IMG_4889

IMG_4890 
 

A couple of the MANY UW Madison dorms.

IMG_4891

IMG_4892 
 

The view.

IMG_4893 
 

DUCKS!!!

IMG_4894 
 

I’m obviously in the right place… thank goodness! 😉

IMG_4895 
 

I chose the pavement – mud and puddles just aren’t my thing.

IMG_4897

IMG_4899 
 

The sign shows bikers LEFT and walkers/runners RIGHT.  This gets violated way too often… personal safety people!

IMG_4900

IMG_4901

IMG_4902 
 

Woods on the way back.

IMG_4903

  

Fabulous day, fabulous walk!
  

Hope you all enjoyed this sneak peek of the Lakeshore Path and A Walk in My World! 🙂

  

  

  

Heather

   

    

     

15 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Your pictures are beautiful, nice scenary for a walk for sure!!! I love going for walks as well– especially if I am stressed out or need “me” time!

  2. Glad you enjoyed your walk! I’ll tag along next time 😉

  3. Gorgeous! That actually reminds me of a camp area that was next ot my old stables in TN. Those buildings are much nicer and bigger, of course..but the paths look about the same.

  4. What a pretty route for a walk! I love walking, it’s so relaxing!

  5. Love this. Walking lets me appreciate nature that I so miss when I run.

    Your pictures are preety. 🙂

  6. beautiful pictures! it’d be a shame to NOT go out and walk in all that!

  7. You had a much sunnier day than we did! Such beautiful pictures. I can’t wait for it to be nice enough to walk on the bike path by my house 🙂

  8. i LOVE walks!! i prefer running, but i always walk each day as well! esp with my pup!

  9. Love the pictures! What a beautiful walk! 🙂

  10. Well I already commented on this one but I just wanted to let you know I’m passing a bloggy award on to you! Sorry to spam, but for the sake of easiness I’m linking right to the page… http://bitesandbliss.com/?p=7328

  11. I walk everywhere. I started walking back in 1983 and I’ve enjoyed it ever since. Wish I had a beautiful lakeside trail close to me. Happy for you that you do.

  12. […] afternoon, I walked 5 miles on Lakeshore Path in pure sunshine bliss!  I’m planning on heading out again later this afternoon to keep […]

  13. […] to make the most of the warm weather while it’s still here, so I went out for a 4 mile walk along Lakeshore Path.  It was getting windy and a little chilly by the time I got back, but the walk itself was […]

  14. […] Sunday for me!  One fabulous thing I managed to fit in today was the first 6-mile walk out to Picnic Point of the year.  I seriously needed that to clear my mind, and I ended up sitting out on the […]

  15. […] handle each day as it comes.  My strategy yesterday?  Walking 6 miles in the afternoon to Picnic Point, and then another 4 miles on Lakeshore Path before it was dark.  10 miles of walking in one […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

