The Shopping Experience

April 11, 2011 at 7:51 am | Posted in Grocery Shopping | 18 Comments
Tags:

As much as I love grocery shopping – which is a lot in case you were wondering – it can get a little stressful when I do my shopping on the weekends with what seems to be the rest of the city of Madison.  As a full-time college student, it’s hard to find the time during the week to make an errand run out to Whole Foods or Trader Joes, but I think I  need to start planning ahead to make the time.  If it means enjoying my shopping, thinking out what I need to buy with a clear mind, and actually allowing it to be a de-stressing experience, it will be worth putting as a weekday priority!

With that in mind, my shopping yesterday at Whole Foods was quite an adventure.  Let’s just say flip-flops were not the right footwear for multiple reasons. 😉

Even so, I bought everything I needed and it ended up being a successful shopping trip with a lesson well-learned for future reference – if I want to ensure that my grocery shopping will be an enjoyable experience, I should plan for it during the weekno biggie!

  

Produce:

  • organic bananas
  • organic red pepper
  • organic sweet potato
  • organic cucumber
  • organic spinach
  • organic red pears
  • organic strawberries
  • organic fuji and pink lady apples
  • organic mache

IMG_4932

     

Shelved Items:

  • unsweetened almond milk
  • organic cinnamon
  • Biotin vitamins
  • Kashi Simple Maize (NEW!!!)
  • Kashi 7 Whole Grain Puffs

IMG_4933

  

Refrigerated Goods:

  • Siggi’s Icelandic-style yogurt (all plain except one grapefruit-flavored)
  • Oikos plain Greek yogurt
  • Stonyfield 0% fat plain yogurt
  • Fage Total 0% Greek yogurt
  • Organic Valley eggs
  • Organic Valley egg whites (I figured I’d try to make an omelet sometime before June when the container expires ;))
  • daiya mozzarella-style shreds

IMG_4934

 

Stocked for at least another week!  Hope everyone has a wonderful Monday

  

What day of the week do you usually do your grocery shopping?

 

   

  

Heather

     

       

    

18 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I find myself going through so much more almond milk than usual, maybe I am eating more cereal ha ha! This looks very close to what my grocery list would entail. I HATE grocery shopping on the weekends, I usually try to go during the week as much as possible!

  2. I must try that new kashi cereal after lent is over! Ahhhhhh I miss cereal!!!

    Today is my grocery day!

    Have a great day girl! xoxoxo ❤

    Yay for eggs! Glad you are loving them!!

  3. I go whenever! My family all eat randomly and differently, so I just go when I need stuff. I can’t wait to move out so I can have a proper schedule!

  4. That new kashi cereal looks good! I’ll have to check that out. My grocery shopping day changes because I also drive my roommates to the store and it can be hard to find a day we can all go. I think it usually ends up being Friday or Saturday, but I prefer a weekday morning when it’s not crowded.

  5. Love the shopping trip! Are we twins?

  6. I generally go on Saturdays because the stores I like (TJ’s, Whole Foods, and two other local natural markets) are a bit of a haul. I made the mistake of taking my boyfriend to Trader Joe’s this weekend for the first time. It was SUPER crowded and I could tell he was just very overwhelmed. I need to take him back this summer when we have more free time during the week and he can experience the true magic that is Trader Joe’s in peace 🙂

  7. i go whenever i’m out. i like going during the week (like wednesday night) because going on the weekends is a nightmare!

  8. I swear our grocery carts are identical!! I’ve never seen that new Kashi cereal before, it sure looks tasty! I’ll definitely be on the look out for that next time I go shoppin 🙂

  9. I LOVE GROCERY shoopping days!! so fun to find new things!!> usually its the weekends for specialty things and monday for normal stuff!

  10. mmm love your groceries!! especially the yogurts- such a fan 😀
    please let us all know how the Kashi is!

  11. awesome stock!! love your weekly eats 🙂

    & thanks so much for the encouraging, sweet “tweet” this morning!! love you!!

  12. You definitely went to town at the store! And yes, I’m huge believer in Kashi so let me know how that new one is. I haven’t seen it around so hopefully my store gets it in quickly!

  13. I think you’ll really like Siggi’s yogurt– my favorite so far! Just not loving the price tag:)

  14. […] last weekend’s not-so-fun grocery shopping experience at Whole Foods, I decided to plan a Monday morning shopping trip instead this week.  […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

