Snap, Crackle, Pop… Corn Pops

April 12, 2011 at 8:05 am | Posted in Breakfast, Dinner, Review | 24 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

Spring has finally made it to Wisconsin!  I’ve shed like 10 minutes off my “getting ready to go somewhere” time just by losing all the jackets, hats, gloves, etc.  It’s pretty great to not even worry about a jacket anymore! 🙂
  

After my afternoon classes yesterday, I decided a baked sweet potato was just what I was craving. 

Organic baked sweet potato topped with Trader Joe’s Organic Crunchy Peanut Butter, cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger.

IMG_4939

With a glass of unsweetened almond milk.

IMG_4941

 

After dinner, I went to a Power Yoga class which, as usual, was fabulous!  There’s something about actually being IN the studio instead of just doing a podcast in my apartment that helps motivate me.
 

Last night, I downloaded Mozilla Firefox and Google Chrome to try out as new web browsers.  Matt recommended Google Chrome to me, and my dad (literally a computer expert) said both browsers are superior to Internet Explorer.  I figured I’d try them both out and see which one – if either – I like better than Internet Explorer.  I started with Google Chrome, and I’m slowly getting the hang of it.  What browser do you use?  And any tips for using Mozilla and/or Google Chrome?

 

I woke up this morning at 5:50am, just at the sun was rising.  Lovely start to my day! 🙂

I decided to try out the new Kashi cereal for breakfast that I had bought at Whole Foods on Sunday – Simply Maize.

IMG_4942

I topped off my cereal with unsweetened almond milk and an organic banana on the side.

IMG_4944

IMG_4945

When I first poured the almond milk in, I couldn’t believe how noisy the cereal was!  It was snap, crackle, and popping away!  Maybe it was the “snap, crackle, pop – Rice Krispies” already in my mind, but my first thought when trying the cereal was RICE KRISPIES.  I actually thought the cereal would be sweeter, being that it looks almost glazed, but it actually wasn’t very sweet at all.  In fact, the taste was a little plain and bland for me.  However, the texture was great and I loved how it stayed puffed and crunchy to the last spoonful. 

It wasn’t until after I finished the cereal that I was able to place the taste… CORN POPS!!!  Yup, this was basically a less sweet version of Kellogg’s Corn Pops.  It wasn’t the most satisfying or filling cereal either, so I’ll be curious to see how long it holds me over this morning.  Overall, it’s a good cereal and worth a try, but I don’t think I’ll be buying it again. 

  

I have a busy Tuesday ahead, and I am almost ready to head out the door to my Psychology Stats lab. Hope everyone has a fabulous day!!!

  

  

  

Heather

   

  

    

24 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Have a great day! Great getting to know you last night 😉

  2. You would taunt me with those sweet potatoes again! 😉

    I’m a Mozilla girl, love it! They just came out with a new version that’s similar to Chrome, which I love.

  3. i love google chrome. i went from explorer (horrendous) to firefox (much better) but once i got google chrome, there was no looking back. you can figure chrome out in a sitting — just click around:)

    a question: how do you cook your sweet potatoes? i can never get it right..

    • I poke a bunch of hole in the sweet potato with a fork, place it on a baking/cookie sheet with a mist of organic PAM sprayed down first, and then put it in the oven for 50 minutes at 400*F. When it’s done, take it out and cut it down the center right away and make any other cuts, and then add all your toppings!

  4. Definitely google chrome. Firefox freezes constantly every time I try using it. A few of my friends have the same problem!

  5. I’m on a Mac, so I use Safari, but my friends who use chrome love it. Have a great day, Heather!

    • You can use chrome on a Mac. I do it 😉

      • I have an hp laptop for the keyboard. Mac’s keys are too spaced out for me and not enough “pound” to them haha.

        • My mac is my baby 😉

          • LOL! I opened up more nested comments for THAT??? Just kidding. 😉

            I had a Sony Vaio (same as Mac’s keyboard) for 1 month and got finger pain from typing and had to return it. I need the classic keyboards, otherwise I would have a Mac as well. Once I’m out of college and not typing up huge papers, I’ll reconsider. For now, I do like my hp though!

  6. Love!!!!

    I need to buy that cereal and have it right after lent! Yay! Cant wait for cereal again!

    Hope you have a great day! xoxo ❤

  7. oh! cereal looks delish. Im gonna have to look for that. I love super crunchy cereal that isnt overly sweet…so this sounds like its right up my alley. Love the sweet potato with PB. Its one of those combos you just cant go wrong with. Awesome! I use firefox. I haven’t tried chrome yet…but we will see. Firefox has been pretty stable for me for the time being. Good luck in class!

  8. I had a sweet tater too!!!! i hadnt had one inn 2 months.. NO JOKE!! i use safari but firefox is good too!

  9. All the public access computer in the library where I work have both Firefox and IE. The IE is hardly every used. For the students around here it’s Firefox all the way.

  10. Hmmm, I hadn’t seen that Kashi flavor before – sounds intriguing.

    I use both Chrome and Firefox (Chrome on my personal pc, FF at work) and I like both. I’ve heard Chrome is more secure?

  11. […] morning I had another bowl of Kashi Simply Maize (my review can be found here) topped with unsweetened almond milk and an organic banana on the […]

  12. i havent tried that cereal, it looks really good!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

