Make It Your Way

April 17, 2011 at 12:17 pm | Posted in Dinner, Other | 12 Comments
Tags: , , ,

 
Remember this?

IMG_4971

Last Wednesday I went to a local coffee shop and ordered their “Deluxe Hummus Plate.”  I was IN LOVE!!!  The only downside was that, with my own added carrots and drink, this cost me about $5.82.  That seemed incredibly steep to me!
  

So, being the savvy and creative person I am, I decided to make my own version, AND use only the foods I actually wanted!

Here’s what I came up with:

IMG_4999

Two sliced and toasted Whole Wheat with Honey Kangaroo pitas (note the whole grain upgrade), organic baby carrots, Athenos Black Olive Hummus, and a glass of unsweetened almond milk.

IMG_5000

Total estimated price?  $1.85!!!
   

I’ll admit there’s something about having it made up for me that’s nice, but it’s definitely not worth the extra $4.00.  And by making it myself, I get to choose the specific foods that I’m craving and know exactly what’s going into the food I eat! 
  

Do you ever like to recreate what you order at restaurants, whether for saving money or just for fun?

  

  

  

Heather

    

        

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You can use that extra money for a Kombucha 😉

  2. I love trying to recreate restaurant meals or copy their presentation! Sometimes I think it’s all how the food is presented :0)

  3. I like to re-make restaurant food– and this way you know everything going into it 🙂

  4. Oh I do this all the time! I hate paying restaurant prices when I can just make it myself at home!

  5. I LOVE recreating takeout or restaurant dishes and usually they taste better too 😉

    Looks amazing love 🙂

  6. AHHH I LOV EYOUR RECREATION AND THEIRS!!! i have never really recreated stuff!! ijust kind of makemy own stuff- but good idea!

  7. omg you know you live in NYC (and our ridiculously over priced cost of living) when I thought (before I read your comment) $5.82- not bad! haha

    I’m impressed that you were able to re-make it for so cheap! You go girl!

  8. I actually think that 5.82 isn’t horrible, but you’re right, it is a bit steep. Life is SO expensive lately!!

  9. It’s ridiculous how much they up the prices on simple foods! I think your upgraded recreation sounds better anyway! 🙂

  10. […] Before heading out to teach a Hot Power Flow yoga class, I put together another take on my hummus plate: […]

  11. oh yoga class sounds super fun! Hope you had an awesome weekend hon!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

