Time to Appreciate

April 28, 2011 at 5:56 am | Posted in Positivity | 14 Comments

In general, I’d like to consider myself an appreciative person… “thank you” comes as second nature to me, I don’t expect anyone to do anything for me that I can’t do myself, I take care of my health and well-being, and I know the value of a dollar. That said, there are so many places in my everyday life where I often look over how lucky I truly am.  Yes, my life is crazy intense right now, but I don’t want those so-called “little things” to go without recognition. 
  

Therefore…
 

Five Things I Take for Granted
 

#1  My mom ALWAYS being available to me when I call.

IMG_5072

24/7 my mom will stop everything she’s doing to answer the phone when I call.  On top of that, she’s willing to listen to me drone on for hours on end about who knows what.  It’s been my saving grace in SO many stressful situations, and I realize I don’t tell her enough how much it means to me.

 

#2  My two absolutely incredible older brothers.

IMG_0381

I love these two to death.  I look up to them both, and admire and respect them so much!  We definitely don’t see each other or talk as much as we should, but I know when the going gets tough, they’ll be there for me in a heartbeat.

 

#3  My amazing friends who would cite a “family emergency” during a business meeting to come give me a hug and take me to coffee after my one (and only) car mishap

Side Swipe 2

Yes, this really did happen… I backed up against a pillar in my parking garage and a friend came and saved me. Winking smile

 

#4  My incredible apartment.

IMG_5057

As a Freshman in college, I know I’m incredibly lucky to even be living in an apartment, let alone a large, safe, well-kept, beautiful apartment with a full kitchen and balcony.  It’s PERFECT for me.

 

#5  My prestigious college education.

image

This one’s a little different… I definitely don’t take my education for granted in general, but I think I tend to forget how lucky I am to be going to a school like UW Madison.  We have some of the best professors, extensive fields of study, and truly top-notch learning environments out there.  I’ve changed my major 6 times – trust me, I’ve been around. Winking smile

 

Do I take things for granted in life?  Yes.  I’m a very grateful person, but I think we could all use a step back every now and then to take in all the AMAZING things life is handing us every single day.
 

What’s one thing you take for granted in your life these days?

  

  

  

Heather

  

  

   

14 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. this post was the perfect way to start my morning 🙂 I take way too many things in my life for granted and really need to take the time and appreciate all that I do have rather than focusing on what I don’t. Thank you so much for the reminder. I’ll carry it with me throughout the day 🙂 Love you, Heather!

  2. What a great post– glad I read it this morning 🙂 I actually was thinking about this last night, and I definitley take for granted that I am lucky to be living home, my parents paying for my education while going to university and taking care of other bills– I am truly blessed.

  3. I can always call my mom too, it’s nice to know she’s always there to answer her phone! 🙂

  4. What a great post! I feel extremely blessed too, I have lots of things I probably take for granted, so this post was a great reminder to stop and be thankful! 🙂

  5. Love this post! Sounds like you have some awesome family and friends. I love that the “family emergency” support trip!!!

  6. this really made me think- love this post, thanks girl! YOU are so naturally beautiful btw.. wow!

  7. I love this post. I’ve been thinking about these a lot, too. I tend to forget how lucky I am to just be born in this world, and get education in a foreign land, fed with good food etc. Thank You for reminding me how grateful I should be about my life 🙂

  8. Great post, Heather– such a message to us all who regularly take for granted the simple things in life. I find myself complaining much of the time, when, in reality there’s so much things to be thankful for 🙂
    I’m grateful for the beautiful area I live in– blossoming with wholesome and organic local foods, lovely areas, great weather and so much more!

  9. Love this post!

    Thank you SO MUCH for being there 😉

  10. I was actually just thinking about how I take my mother’s availability for granted. I try not to also take each simple moment for granted and I try really hard daily to live in the moment and make the most of each one because they are gone sooner than soon.

  11. my friends. definitely. they are always willing to listen to me bitch and moan and cry.

    and my phone. i left it at work earlier this week and felt so lost without it. but that’s more of a superficial one…

  12. I really can’t believe you’re a freshman in college! I bet you get that a lot. You just come off so wise beyond your years. 😉 I would say having a car! I’m only 16 and the fact that my grandpa handed me over a car (a nice one, too!) is amazing. I’m so blessed. 🙂

    I agree, you ARE naturally beautiful!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

