Summer Plans

May 18, 2011 at 6:40 pm | Posted in Other | 15 Comments
Tags: ,

You know I’m traveling by plane when I…
  

… buy Big Red gum.

IMG_5173

I realize this would probably makes sense to no one besides my immediate family who has traveled with me before.  My ears go through some pretty intense pain when taking off and landing (I’ve heard it called airplane ear before), so I chew Big Red gum during both times since it’s the most “chewy” gum I know of.  I actually haven’t had Big Red in 7 years – the last time I flew somewhere.  I also drink water and take Sudafed to prevent the pain, and it seemed to work well the last time I flew. 

   
… measure my one and only duffle bag to see if it fits the carry-on requirements.

IMG_5174

I was 4 inches under!  Let’s just say I’m totally curious as to how I’m ever going to fit a week’s worth of packing in this thing.

  
… try to stuff as many 3oz bottles as I can into a quart-sized bag.

IMG_5176

The bag on the right fit the most bottles in case you were curious. Winking smile

IMG_5177

Trust me, there will be even more stuffed in here in a week.

  
… buy a non-electric toothbrush and holders, and disposable razors.

IMG_5178

SO sad that electric toothbrushes aren’t travel-friendly.  I’m obsessed with mine!

 

So the real question… where am I going?

One week from today I’m heading to Alabama for a week to visit Matt.  Never actually thought I’d ever say I was going to Alabama, but life can throw some unexpected (and very good) plans at you sometimes.  I’ll be taking the week off from blogging during that time, so no need to call the police or anything if I’m MIA starting next week. Winking smile
 

I haven’t flown in 7 years, and that was with my family, so of course I didn’t pay any attention whatsoever to what we were doing.  Therefore, I’m a little nervous about flying, especially with a layover in Memphis, but I have a good friend dropping me off at the airport who I know wouldn’t leave me until I knew what I was comfortable with the whole airport situation. 

I’m the type of person who starts packing and preparing WAY ahead of time, so of course with flying in the mix, I wanted to get started early. 

Do you have any tips for flying?

  

My other plans for this summer aren’t nearly as interesting.  I’ll be taking 2 summer classes (a Comm Arts class and an Ed Psych class – both are 4 weeks long), and I’m still teaching 3 yoga classes a week.  Of course, if it ever warms up, I’ll be laying out in the sun and just enjoying getting outside! Smile

What are your summer plans?

  

    

    

Heather

   

      

    

15 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m trying SO hard to find a job!! That’s my summer plans 😀

    ENJOY the time with MATT!! 😀

  2. That sounds awesome! I hope you have a great time in ‘bama with Matt 😀

  3. ha! typical flying essentials 🙂 don’t forget your headphones!

    wishing you a safe, healthy, and most importantly – FUN week!!!!! Enjoy the down time from blogging.. it’s therapeutic 🙂

    Can’t wait to hear every last detail. LOVE YOU!

  4. I definitely ditto on the headphones thing!! They come in handy if you’re sitting next to someone who is trying to chat you up. Drink lot of water and bring a book & magazine to read. If you get stressed, just try to sleep on the plane.

    Have fun!!

  5. That’s so exciting! Have so much fun down South! The weather will certainly be better 😀

  6. Where in AL are you going?! I mean, not saying we’d have to meet up since you’d be spending time with Matt and all..but it’d be pretty cool! It’s just cool you’re going to AL anyway. Hope you have a blast!!

    As for flying tips..my biggest one is to get by a window. I get SO bored if I can’t look out a window or at least rest my head on the wall. It also helps to chat with the person next to you. Sometimes you get lucky and they’re really nice. 🙂

    • I’ll be in Tuscaloosa… what city do you live in? I’m sure Matt’s keeping us busy while I’m there, but definitely neat that you live in Alabama too! 🙂

  7. awwww have soooo much fun girl!!!!! i am so glad you are getting to go there!!! sounds like you packed some necessary travel items!! you will be closer to me being in the south 🙂

  8. Ah you are going to have so much fun! 🙂 I’m excited to hear how it goes…

    As far as plane tips… well honestly I’m super used to planes haha. Definitely look up a map of the airport you have a connection at (do you have a connection or did I make that up?) so you can have an idea of where stuff is, though you’ll almost definitely have to check what gate you’re flying out of when you get there… actually, definitely check just inc ase, my best friend nearly got left behind coz the gate changed and she had no idea! Bring books or music or something to distract you, and gum is helpful for when your ears start popping coz of the altitude. Plane snacks kind of suck so snacks are always a good idea 🙂 Larabars are wonderful for that… Oh, and if you can check in at home and print your boarding pass that’s usually easier, but sometimes the benefit isn’t as great when you have to check luggage (though depending on who you’re flying with, if it’s SOuthwest you get to choose your seat earlier if you check in earlier 🙂 ).

    Sorry if that was incoherent/unhelpful 😉 I’m just babbling at this point.

    n

    • That was extremely helpful! Thank you! 🙂 I have a connection in Memphis and I’m flying on Delta, so I will definitely look into finding a map of the Memphis airport and checking in beforehand to get my boarding pass.

  9. I always bring individually packed wet wipes to wipe down my arm and head rest and the tray table…I know everyone probably thinks I’m extremely strange and OCD, but there are SO many germs, and I’d rather be safe than sorry.

    And don’t forget your ID!

  10. AWW taht sounds liek SO SO SO MUCH FUN GIRL!! have a blast! tell us about it!

  11. So sososooo excited for you and Matt 🙂

  12. […] what test I’m forgetting to study for, I have FREE TIME, and I’m getting ready to take a week-long trip.  […]

  13. Have sooooo much fun on your travels, my friend! Don’t worry about blogging during that time- relax your heart out! But I would like to see pictures when you return, of course. 🙂
    Say hi to Matt for me!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

