The Comparison Game Part II – Whole Foods

June 4, 2011 at 2:03 pm | Posted in Dinner | 9 Comments
Tags: ,

When I was in Alabama last week, I got to experience the wonder that is Birmingham Whole Foods.

IMG_5192

Comparing Madison Whole Foods to Birmingham is like night and day. Basically, Madison sucks and Birmingham doesn’t.  Madison’s selection of every single food product from produce to cereal was put to shame by the variety at Birmingham. 

image
  

In one full year of living in Madison and shopping at Whole Foods every week, I have not once tried their Hot/Cold Food Bar.  Honestly, it’s always looked totally unappetizing and sparse.

This is, quite literally, the extent of the Bar Area:

photo(21)

Hot Bar…

photo(23)

photo(22)

Cold Bar…

photo WF

photo(20)

Notice how there’s only one row per item?  In Birmingham there were two rows (aka twice as many items!).  Plus, the Madison Cold Bar didn’t have a SINGLE cold pasta item.  WTF???
  

I got about 4 items from each (Hot and Cold), and even that was forced.  Nothing really looked appealing!

Here’s what I ended up with:

IMG_5209

Cold is on the left; Hot is on the right.

IMG_5210

Looks decent enough, right?

The hot foods were ok and I finished them all off, but not a SINGLE cold food was anywhere near decent… the steamed kale literally tasted like dirtI couldn’t even finish the cold. 

IMG_5211

Needless to say, I supplemented my dinner – Helllllooo apple and peanut butter!
  

Bottom line – I’ll have to fly to Birmingham whenever I’m craving Whole Foods Hot/Cold Bar.  Totally practical, I know. Winking smile
 

How does your Whole Foods compare in regards to product selection and the Hot/Cold Bar?

  

  

 

Heather

   

     

   

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m sorry for your unfortunate Whole Foods experience 😦

  2. Sorry your Whole Foods..well..sucks. But it’s better than nothing, right?! 🙂

    I hate to brag, but to answer your question..a new whole foods opened up about 2.5 months ago. It is the BOMB DOT COM.

  3. Yeah, to be honest the hot bar of my local whole foods here in cali is def lacking. there’s just not a lot of options and it’s a small store… The closest “big” one is like 30 minutes and I have no car lol so I don’t get to go very often either!


    n

  4. Well…just be glad you have a WFs closer than 2 hours away. 😉

  5. My WF is decent, but I wish they would switch it up every once in a while. They have the SAME items all the time. The one in Orlando is amazing though, and it’s my fav.

  6. It’s wild how drastically different the Whole Foods bars are! In NYC, there are SO many Whole Foods, and each one offers such different things. Some of the bars are pathetic and others are glorious!

  7. I say, be happy you have a whole foods near you! Wish mine was closer, 2 hours in LOTS OF traffic to get there.

  8. Sorry about your WF’s 😦
    I never eat at the hot bar at my WF’s. Just the cold bar which has all their grains, beans, veggies, and salad bar. I wish the one by my house has a dessert bar like the one about 30 mins from my house. But I am thankful that there is a good selection of foods.

  9. My closest Whole Foods is in St. Louis.. 1.5 hrs away. I have to supplement hot/cold bar with the dining hall’s salad bar. Sooo not the same.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

