There’s a First Time for Everything

June 5, 2011 at 4:24 pm | Posted in Dinner, Recipe | 11 Comments
Tags: , , ,

And yesterday was my first time making a grilled cheese sandwich.

Yes, I know, grilled cheese is like THE simplest form of cooking out there, requires almost no skill whatsoever, and is a classic staple in a college student’s diet, but I just never got around around to making one myself.

As a kid, my mom would make grilled cheese sandwiches using Kraft American Cheese singles to have with tomato soup, and that was the extent of my grilled cheese experience… until now.

I’m pretty sure I gave Matt a heart attack when I told him I had never made my own, so after learning the basics (thank you wikiHow) and buying the “appropriate” cheese, I put my skills to the test.
 

First, a stop at Whole Foods…

photo(25)
 

Millet bread topped with Gruyere cheese.

IMG_5214

  
Perfectly grilled, if I do say so myself.

IMG_5215

  
Finished product.

IMG_5217

Notice that string of melted cheese?  YUM!
 

Yes, I’ve now become a fan of grilled cheese sandwiches.  It was simple and SO good!  If you haven’t tried making one or don’t believe me, do it for yourself… RIGHT. NOW.  Winking smile

  

Have you made your own grilled cheese sandwiches before?  What do you like to put in them?

 

  

 

Heather

  

   

     

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. awww your very first grilled cheese! What a special moment. 😀 It looks amaze!

  2. As easy as a grilled cheese may seem and look, it’s quite a culinary task! I often don’t make them since I’m fearful that they’ll burn and not turn out well 🙂 You’re right through… it depends on the type of cheese 🙂 Yours looks fantastic and i’m sure you’ll win an A+ from Matt!

  3. LOVE that grilled cheese 😉

    So. Baller.

  4. I love grilled cheese..yours looks fantastic! I love to put avocado in mine 😀

  5. I love grilled cheese made on the Foreman Grill!! It adds little waves in the bread… such great kid food. I tend to play it pretty safe with grilled cheese… Colby jack cheese on 2 slices of bread does it for me.

  6. OMG yes when i was kid they were my FAV!!! i made them on the stove and with red cheese ahah..!

  7. Hey Heather! I found your blog through Matt and I just have to say you are absolutely gorgeous! I’m excited to check out more of your blog!

    Yay for your first REAL grilled cheese! I remember my first one without the Kraft-how-can-you-call-this-stuff-cheese cheese and it was pretty magical! I’ve never tried Gruyere though…I’m usually big on havarti or some kind of sharp cheddar!

  8. I had a grilled cheese yesterday with some pesto. I forgot how much I love these sandwiches!

  9. Just wait until winter … you’ll love grilled cheese even more! 🙂

  10. “Have you made your own grilled cheese sandwiches before? What do you like to put in them?”

    about a million of them and i love adding tomatoes to them! i love tomato anything and add them to my GCS’s. And lots of ketchup or hot/honey mustard, too.

    Gruyere is the best in sammies or white aged sharp cheddar, too!

  11. […] (By the way, you can read about her first grilled cheese experience here) […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

